How to Disable Google Buzz in Gmail

What is Goole Buzz?

Google Buzz was a social networking, microblogging and messaging tool that was developed by Google and integrated into their web-based email program, Gmail. Users could share links, photos, videos, status messages and comments organized in "conversations" and visible in the user's inbox

 

 

Disable Google Buzz in Gmail

To remove Google Buzz from Gmail:
  • Follow the Settings link in Gmail.
  • Go to the Buzz tab.
    • If you cannot see the Buzz tab, follow the turn off buzz link at the bottom of Gmail.
  • Make sure Do not show Google Buzz in Gmail is selected.
  • Click Save Changes.
If you want to get rid of Buzz and its icon in the Gmail side-bar but not Buzz itself, you can hide the Buzz label instead of disabling Buzz altogether.
To ban just some Buzz messages from your Gmail inbox, you can use filters.
To enable Google Buzz again in your Gmail account:
  • Use the turn on buzz link at the bottom of Gmail.

Posting to Google Buzz with Buzz Hidden in Gmail

You can still post to Google Buzz, of course,

Disable Google Buzz Entirely (and Delete Your Profile and Posts)

To disable Google Buzz completely:
  • Select Settings link in Gmail.
  • Go to the Buzz tab.
    • If you cannot see the Buzz tab, follow the turn off buzz link at the bottom of Gmail.
  • Click Disable Google Buzz.
  • Now click Yes, delete my profile and posts.
Note that disabling Google Buzz will delete all your posts and comments from Google Buzz. Individual comments and posts may still reside in other people's inboxes and Gmail accounts, though.
Read More »